Safe house

March 8, 2008

So. There’s a valid reason why I didn’t blog yesterday.

I’m in a kinda safe house at the moment. Gerry’s here after finding me in Manchester. I guess some of you were a little confused as to whether I could trust these guys or not. I’m pretty sure I can. They seemed to know all about Project Ophiuchus and Jason. Gerry’s been telling me how they put their campaign on hold and focussed all efforts on finding us. I guess it was the right thing to do. Firstly, so their campaign isn’t damaged and they don’t look like the ones who Kidnapped us, and secondly because they had the ability track us down.

This couldn’t have happened without your help though. I’m thankful for what you guys have done. To Leyton, for finding the USB stick I left in Brunel University Library, and Zaranai for retrieving Martin’s and all the rest of you for mucking in here and there. I guess it’s pretty obvious that we created the authorisation files to ensure that the people who found them had good intentions, and were vast in number. I’m afraid to say that although we’d been watching what Jason’s been doing from afar we couldn’t be sure if we could trust you. Thankfully, you proved yourselves.

Project Ophiuchus – it’s not over yet. Over the last year, I’ve been caught up with that stupid project. It’s like a drug. The more you commit yourself, the more you have to commit. I guess it’s a bit World of Warcraft, in a weird sorta way.

We’re not free yet. Jason and his minions of Recruits will still be looking for us, we’ve only temporarily stopped them. What we’ve found from hacking the site to change the authorisation files is that yes, like any system it has weak spots and no, it’s not impenetrable. But we’re only able to do so much. Gerry’s been giving us some ideas for how we can take the website down. it’s the heart of the project. If the website and database are offline, then the participants / recruits, whatever you care to call them aren’t able to feed in their information.

You need to help us with the final stages. We’re plotting away, but I promise they’ll be ready soon. We really won’t be able to succeed without your help over the next few days. God only knows what will happen if you fail. I really hope you can do it. We’re in such a real state. We’ve had enough of Jason’s sick little manipulations and we want to return to the real world, helping real people. Our lives have been turned upside down.

As far as we’re concerned,

This is not a game.

Becs x

P.S. I promise I’ll get around to answering more of your questions. Helping you to help me and all that. Leave ’em below

Leave a Reply

